top of page

"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you," Sky Napper Founder Interview


Introduce us to your business, how you got the idea, and how you sourced any materials.

Several years ago I invented a ground transportation technology that allows existing cars to connect to an automated high speed rail called the SkyWay. I was travelling around the country for meetings and could not sleep on the planes. I have an old neck injury that would become inflamed if I used a traditional neck pillow. One day I was so fed up that I tied a scarf around my head and the plane seat so that my head would not bob forward. At that point I got the idea and began prototyping various designs until I became completely satisfied. I was sewing the prototypes on my own until I found a manufacturer.

How did you go about manufacturing your product, as that is a major obstacle for many entrepreneurs?

We have a personal friend who invented a couple products who referred us to a manufacturer in China.

How do you handle the logistics and inventory management of a crowd funding campaign, not knowing how much product you will end up needing?

We are placing an initial order and we have our manufacturer prepared to re-order quickly.

Tell us about the backend of your business and if there is any online tools or apps you use to stay organized?

Skype always comes in handy for meetings!

How have you been able to get the word out about your product? Any direct or online marketing tips?

We’ve been slow in that department but I’ve hired on a friend who is going to take over our social media and marketing efforts.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

What tips do you have for crowd funders and entrepreneurs, from making a crowd funding video to making a website and selling product?

Triple to amount of money, time, and people you think you need!

Lastly, what should consumers know about your product that is different from what is already on the market?

What makes our Sky Napper work better than the competitors is the unique design. The patent pending design uses your resting back weight to anchor the brace in the correct upright position while the padded eye mask keeps your head from bobbing forward. A memory foam pillow ergonomically cradles your neck and also holds ear plugs to block out any noise if need be. The best upright sleep you’ll ever have!

Thanks so much for talking with us!

-The Create Team

Check them out on IG: @theskynapper and their campaign : https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/skynapper/1438847336?token=96037f00


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page