top of page

Jade J: Sleek Tech Accessories--Interview with Kickstarter Entrepreneur


Introduce us to your business, how you got the idea,

and how you sourced any materials.

Jade J is a start-up that sells tech accessories

with a focus on the aesthetics. I was getting tired of always seeing the same generic designs for tech products, so I wanted to introduce something that not only had quality specs, but also looked sleek and fresh. My dad’s been in the import/export business

for a long time and I always saw the products that he brought in. I wanted to take what he knew and put my own spin on it. I’m blessed to not have to start from scratch, and to be able to learn from his experience and use his existing connections.

How did you go about manufacturing your product,

as that is a major obstacle for many entrepreneurs?

So as mentioned above, I’m fortunate enough to have

been exposed to the import/export business my whole life by my dad. I have a direct relationship with my partner overseas, so there is no middle man. I’ve visited China several times to inspect the factories, introduce myself to the overseas team, and make

sure that all the products will be coming from a reliable source. I understand this is an advantage that not many people have, so I am extremely grateful for it.

How do you handle the logistics and inventory management

of a crowd funding campaign, not knowing how much product you will end up needing?

Since all of the products are completely custom designed,

I had to create new molds for each product. There is a minimum order quantity for each order, so I just started with that.

Tell us about the backend of your business and if

there is any online tools or apps you use to stay organized?

Shopify definitely simplifies the e-commerce experience

and is extremely user-friendly. Shipstation is a Shopify plug-in that again, simplifies things and makes shipping straightforward. I was able to fiddle around and learn how to use them without having to invest extensive time and energy. Since I am only a small

start-up with limited resources, this was very important for me.

How have you been able to get the word out about

your product? Any direct or online marketing tips?

This has been one of the biggest challenges for me,

and I’m still looking for ways to get the word out. One reason why I reached out to Create WFU! To be perfectly honest, I can’t say I’m in a position to give out tips to others.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

Focus on the now. Use whatever time and energy you

have now to maximize your current situation. That’s not to say ignore future plans, but don’t invest all of yourself being so anxious about the future that you fail to address what’s going on around you now.

What tips do you have for crowd funders and entrepreneurs,

from making a crowd funding video to making a website and selling product?

It’s tough to say because my campaign hasn’t reached

its goal yet, but I would say don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. That was definitely a big challenge. I’ll come back to this question if and when my campaign gets fully funded!

Lastly, what should consumers know about your product

that is different from what is already on the market?

Purely, the design and consumer engagement. I’m not

introducing new inventions into the marketplace. I know that there are already a ton of these products in the marketplace, so what I hope is just to introduce fresh alternatives to existing products. There really aren’t that many tech products out there with

fresh and sleek designs. Since I am a small start-up, I’ll be cultivating a heavy social media presence that regularly engages consumers. I’ll be sure to also hold contests and raffles, among other things, to get my followers involved.

Check out their campaign now live on Kickstarter: http://kck.st/2adY0Ce

Thanks so much for talking with us!

-The Create Team

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page